British North America Act, 1867, S. 22

22. In relation to the Constitution of the Senate Canada shall be deemed to consist of Three Divisions:

1. Ontario;
2. Quebec;
3. The Maritime Provinces, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick;

which Three Divisions shall (subject to the Provisions of this Act) be equally represented in the Senate as follows: Ontario by Twenty-four Senators; Quebec by Twenty-four Senators; and the Maritime Provinces by Twenty-four Senators, Twelve thereof representing Nova Scotia, and Twelve thereof representing New Brunswick.

In the Case of Quebec each of the Twenty-four Senators representing that Province shall be appointed for One of the Twenty-four Electoral Divisions of Lower Canada specified in Schedule A. to Chapter One of the Consolidated Statutes of Canada.

Documents related to section 22

[Note: Prince Edward Island, on admission into the Union in 1873, became part of the third division with a representation in the Senate of four members, the representation of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick being reduced from twelve to ten members each. See Section 147.

A fourth division represented in the Senate by twenty-four senators and comprising the Western Provinces of Manitoba, British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan, each represented by six senators, was added by the Constitution Act, 1915 (No. 23 infra).

Newfoundland is represented in the Senate by six members. See the Constitution Act, 1915 (No. 23 infra) and the Newfoundland Act (No. 32 infra).

The Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories are represented in the Senate by one member each. See the Constitution Act (No. 2), 1975 (No. 42 infra).]