British North America Act, 1867, S. 85

85. Every Legislative Assembly of Ontario and every Legislative Assembly of Quebec shall continue for Four Years from the Day of the Return of the Writs for choosing the same (subject nevertheless to either the Legislative Assembly of Ontario or the Legislative Assembly of Quebec being sooner dissolved by the Lieutenant Governor of the Province), and no longer.

Documents related to section 85

[Note: Now five years in both provinces: see the Legislative Assembly Act (Ontario) and the National Assembly Act (Quebec). See also section 4 of the Constitution Act, 1982 (No. 44 infra).]