UK, HC, “Canada Bill”, vol 18 (1982), cols 831-834

Document Information

Date: 1982-02-23
By: UK (House of Commons)
Citation: UK, HC, “Canada Bill“, vol 18 (1982), cols 831-834.
Other formats: Click here to view the original document.

Again considered in Committee

Mr. J. Enoch Powell Further to that point of order, Mr. Weatherill. I understand that amendments Nos. 14 and 15 will have to be taken before the other amendments in the group. In view of your ruling at the commencement of our proceedings that matters raised in the amendments could be discussed on clause stand part, I do not propose to move amendments Nos. 14 and 15, so that later amendments can be moved.
The Chairman I understand that hon. Members wish to divide the House on amendment No. 17. That amendment will be moved by an hon. Member other than the right hon. Member for Down, South (Mr. Powell). However, we will be unable to vote on that amendment until we have dealt with the amendments Nos. 14 and 15. Does the right hon. Gentleman intend to move them?
Mr. J. Enoch Powell No, Sir.
Amendment proposed: No. 17, in page 2, line 14, after `Act’, insert `subject to the omission in Schedule B, section 35, subsection (1) of the word “existing.”‘.—[Mr. George.]

Question put. That the amendment be made:—

The Committee divided: Ayes 42, Noes 154.

Division No. 78 [10.2 pm
Bennett, Andrew(St’kp, tn) Braine, Sir Bernard
Bidwell, Sydney Brown, R, C.N’castle W)
Buchan, Norman Orme, Rt Hon Stanley
Callaghan, jim(Midd’t’n&p) Palrmer, Athur
Clark, Dr David (S Shields) Powell, Rt Hon J.e(S Down)
Cook, Robin F. Powell, Remond(Ogmore)
Cryer, Bob Price, C, (Lewisham W)
Cunliff, Lawrence Richardson, JO
Dalyell, Tam Rooker, J. W.
Duffy, A, E. P. Ross, Earnest (Dundee West)
English, Mechael Ross, Wm.(Londonderry)
George, Bruce Rowlands, Ted
Hardy, Peter Skinner, Dennis
Home Robrtson, John Stewart, Rt Hon D(Wlsles)
Hooley, Frank Wainwright, E.(Dearne V)
Jones, Barry(East Flint) White, Frank R.
Kerr, Russell Wilson, Gordon(Dundee E)
Lawrence, Ivan Winterton, Nicholas
McGuire, Michael(Ince) Wolfson, Mark
McKelvey, William
McWillam, John Tellers for the Ayes:
Milkardo, Ian Mr. David Ennals and
Newens, Stanley Mr. D. N. Campbell-Savours
Aitken, Jonathan Hamilton, Hon A.
Alexander, Richard Hampson, Dr Keith
Alton, David Havers, Rt Hon Sir Michael
Ancram, Michael Hawkins, Paul
Arnold, Tom Hawksley, Warren
Aspinwall, Jack Heddle, John
Atkins, Rt Hon H.(S’thorne) Hogg, Hon Douglas (Gr’th’m)
Atkinson, David (B’m’th, E) Hordern, Peter
Baker, Nicholas (N Dorset) Howell, Rt Hon D. (G’Ic If’d)
Beith, A. J. Howells, Geraint
Bendall, Vivian Hunt, David (Wirral)
Benyon, Thomas(A’don) Hunt, John (Ravensbourne)
Benyon, W.(Buckingham) Jenkin, Rt Hon Patrick
Berry, Hon Anthony Jessel, Toby
Biffen, Rt Hon John Johnston, Russell(Inverness)
Blackburn, John Jopling, Rt Hon Michael
Boscawen, Hon Robert Kaberry, Sir Donald
Bottomley, Peter (W’wich W) Kershaw, Sir Anthony
Bright, Graham Kimball, Sir Marcus
Brinton, Tim King, Rt Hon Tom
Brooke, Hon Peter Knight, Mrs Jill
Brown, Michael (Brigg&Sc’n) Lang, Ian
Browne, John (Winchester) Lawson, Rt Hon Nigel
Butcher, John Lee, John
Cadbury, Jocelyn LeMarchant, Spencer
Carlisle, John (Luton West) Lester, Jim (Beeston)
Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln) Lloyd, Ian (Havant& W’loo)
Carlisle, Rt Hon M. (R’c’n) Lloyd, Peter (Fareham)
Chapman, Sydney Luce, Richard
Churchill, W. S. Lyell, Nicholas
Clarke, Kenneth (Rushcliffe) Mabon, Rt Hon Dr J. Dickson
Clegg, Sir Walter MacKay, John (Argyll)
Cockeram, Eric McNair-Wilson, M. (N’bury)
Cope, John McNamara, Kevin
Costain, Sir Albert Major, John
Cunningham, G. (Islington S) Marland, Paul
Dean, Paul (North Somerset) Mather, Carol
Douglas-Hamilton, Lord J. Mawby, Ray
Dover, Denshore Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin
Dunn, Robert (Dartford) Mellor, David
Dykes, Hugh Meyer, Sir Anthony
Emery, Sir Peter Mills, lain (Meriden)
Fairgrieve, Sir Russell Mills, Peter (West Devon)
Faith, Mrs Sheila Montgomery, Fergus
Fenner, Mrs Peggy Morris, M. (N’hampton S)
Finsberg, Geoffrey Morrison, Hon C. (Devizes)
Fisher, Sir Nigel Murphy, Christopher
Fookes, Miss Janet Myles, David
Fox, Marcus Neale, Gerrard
Garel-Jones, Tristan Nelson, Anthony
Goodhew, Sir Victor Neubert, Michael
Goodlad, Alastair Normanton, Tom
Gorst, John Osborn, John
Gray, Hamish Page, Richard (SW Herts)
Griffiths, Peter Portsm ‘th N) Penhaligon, David
Grylls, Michael Pink, R. Bonner
Gummer, John Selwyn Prentice, Rt Hon Reg
Pym, Rt Hon Francis Stewart, A. (ERenfrewshire)
Raison, Rt Hon Timothy Stradling Thomas, J.
Rhys Williams, Sir Brandon Tapsell, Peter
Ridley, Hon Nicholas Taylor, Teddy (S’end E)
Rifkind, Malcolm Tebbit, Rt Hon Norman
Roberts, M. (Cardiff NW) Thomas, Rt Hon Peter
Roper, John Thompson, Donald
Rossi, Hugh Thorne, Neil (Ilford South)
Sainsbury, Hon Timothy Thornton, Malcolm
Shaw, Michael (Scarborough) Trippier, David
Shelton, William (Streatham) Trotter, Neville
Sims, Roger Viggers, Peter
Skeet, T. H. H Waddington, David
Smith, Cyril (Rochdale) Wainwright, R.(Colne V)
Speed, Keith Waldegrave, Hon William
Speller, Tony Waller, Gary
Spicer, Jim (West Dorset) Wheeler, John
Spicer, Michael (SWorcs) Wickenden, Keith
Stanbrook, lvor
Stanley, John Tellers for the Noes:
Steen, Anthony Mr. Nick Budgen and
Stevens, Martin Mr. Tony Newton.
Question accordingly negatived.

The Lord Privy Seal (Mr. Humphrey Atkins) We have made a useful start on the proceedings on the Bill and 834 we have had a series of important debates and speeches. It may be for the convenience of the Committee if we report progress and ask leave to sit again.
To report Progress and ask leave to sit again.—[Mr. Goodlad]

Committee report Progress; to sit again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply